Skip navigation

As rare and stupendous TRUE intelligence is in this day and age, I can’t help but feel that those that pride themselves as intellectuals rob themselves of the pleasures and memories to be had in good, old-fashioned stupid fun.

Now, I’m not advocating that the masses go play in the middle of the highway (though I certainly won’t stop those that get that from this; world will certainly not stutter on its axis at their becoming a stain in a plucky trucker’s grill), but I am saying that the laughter to be elicited from putting double-sided tape on a cat’s paws or the childish giggles to be had from contorting one’s genitals to resemble a stern billy-goat is, to apply a culinary twist on the act, quite delicious. These moments, when shared with somebody who one can feel truly comfortable sharing a moment of euphoric stupidity with, are undeniably irreplaceable, as well.

So many consider–and so many more will preach–how the actions of their life will be reflected upon when one is on their death bed. The number of times that some existential prude with an infected ass-hair has spat at me the parroted nonsense of “What will you think of [this piercing]//[that tattoo]//[this action]/[that person]//[whatever piece of my life they feel worked-up about to demand immediate long-term reflection for] when you’re old and dying??” has driven me less to dwell on their pontifications and more on a raw curiosity of how empty their own reflections will be when their own mortality comes creeping up on them.

Personally, I can only hope to have lived a life so rich in both glee and regret that, when the time for reflection comes, I’d have but only a moment to spare on any one act/event. In short: I’d sooner know a lifetime of regret and failure than one of mediocrity and boredom.

And, that being the basis for my personal pride on the day the Reaper’s scythe swings for me, I can say with all sincerity–and as a tried-and-true intellectual–that I cherish everything I’ve done with my life thus far; both brilliant and blatantly stupid.

Now there is but one question to dwell upon: have you done something stupid today that you’ll cherish for the rest of your days?

Leave a Reply

